Presidential Task Force on Undergraduate Admissions Final Report

Dear Cornellians,

The Presidential Task Force on Undergraduate Admissions has now submitted a final report of recommendations for updated policies and best practices related to undergraduate admissions at Cornell. I have carefully reviewed their recommendations, and Provost Michael Kotlikoff and Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education and Interim Vice Provost for Enrollment Lisa Nishii will now begin implementing a broad-ranging set of best practices and guidelines as proposed in the report.

I am very grateful to all of the task force members and the co-chairs for their participation in this important effort. Their deep dedication to forward-looking, equitable admissions practices has provided us with a roadmap for building broadly diverse classes of exceptionally talented students, as we continue to pursue our academic mission at the highest level.


Martha E. Pollack

Task force membership:

Avery August, co-chair, professor of microbiology and immunology in the College of Veterinary Medicine, deputy provost and presidential advisor on diversity and equity

Kelly E. Cunningham, co-chair, chief of staff and special counsel to the president

Patrizia McBride, co-chair, professor of German studies and senior associate dean for social sciences and interdisciplinary programs, College of Arts and Sciences

Vicki Bogan, professor of applied economics and policy and Geller Family Faculty Fellow, Cornell SC Johnson College of Business

Scott Campbell, executive director of admissions and recruitment, College of Engineering

Lee Humphreys, professor and chair of the Department of Communication, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

Thorsten Joachims, professor of computer science and information science, Cornell Ann S. Bowers College of Computing and Information Science

René Kizilcec, assistant professor of information science, Cornell Ann S. Bowers College of Computing and Information Science

Mark Lewis, Maxwell M. Upson Professor of Engineering and director of the School of Operations Research and Information Engineering, College of Engineering

Alan Mathios, professor of economics, Cornell Jeb E. Brooks School of Public Policy

Lisa Nishii, professor of human resource studies, School of Industrial and Labor Relations; vice provost for undergraduate education and interim vice provost for enrollment

Ravi Ramakrishna, professor of mathematics and Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellow, College of Arts and Sciences

Kim Weeden, Jan Rock Zubrow ’77 Professor of the Social Sciences and director of the Center for the Study of Inequality, College of Arts and Sciences